Resuming paused processes on macOS

My Macbook Pro has been annoying the hell out of me lately, running of out application memory on a regular basis. (You’d think that’d be hard to do with 16 GB of RAM, but apparently my Mac is quite good at it…) Sure, I can restart it to clear the memory and have it load things up again as needed, but there always comes a point when that little window pops up and complains about a lack of application memory.

A couple of times I’ve dismissed that window by mistake and wondered how to restart the suspended application(s). A quick search yielded an option to the kill command that I wasn’t aware of. So the next time I do that by mistake and leave an app or two suspended, I can start up the Activity Monitor, check the process ID of the suspended application(s), and then type:

% kill -CONT <PID>

Hey Presto, app gets unstuck. Yay!

That is, as long as macOS doesn’t decide to suspend the terminal…

Chephren the Third

Mount Chephren the Third – a calm, clear summer night at Lower Waterfowl Lake for the last of my 3 photos of this view.

Taken half-an-hour later than last week’s photo of Mount Chephren, the sky begins to turn indigo as night falls while the north-western sky still retains its post-sunset glow. For this reason I really enjoy summers in the Rockies. Being a bit further north than Vancouver brings longer days, while, on top of that, the mountains are near the western edge of the Mountain time zone so sunset occurs at a “later” time than expected for that time zone. (See this page for a demonstration.) Since I’m not a morning person, I don’t miss the corresponding lack of daylight in the early hours, but at that time of year it hardly matters.