Grumpy blue heron

Great grumpy blue heron – this heron was standing in a couple of inches of water right next to the trail, and I was surprised at how close I was able to get. Maybe that’s why it looked grumpy 🙂

Oh, I remember this day… We had walked through to Coal Harbour from Stanley Park in order to sample one or more hot chocolates as it was the Vancouver Hot Chocolate Festival. The highlight was definitely getting a nice close up view of this heron (perhaps it should have been the hot chocolate – good enough, but these days I find them to be far too sweet). The low point was me rolling my ankle as I ran along the seawall near the convention centre, and didn’t see the change in level of the path. That was a painful walk back into the park to get back to our car before our parking ran out. So maybe it was me that was grumpy, not the heron?

Leave a Reply

