Sastrugi

Seymour sastrugi for today’s winter-wonderland Wednesday.

I didn’t have any waterfall, wildflower, or wildlife shots in mind for this week, so I came up with a new Wednesday tag – only to find that it’s been used at least 300 times before. Ah well, so much for originality.

Anyhow, this is yet another photo from my trip up Mt Seymour from a couple of weeks ago. It’s always windy up there in the winter, and with the lack of trees on the summit, the snow is sculpted into a fantastic array of shapes (i.e., sastrugi). I must have taken a dozen or more shots of various curves and lines – always tricky to make them look good with white-on-white details, but this arrangement was placed just right with distant mountains and the dip in the bluffs.

When I first looked at this shot, though, I wasn’t happy with it – the sastrugi was not a big enough feature. I wasn’t even thinking of Instagram when I cropped it, but found that the square crop really allowed me to highlight the snow in a way I was happy with. Definitely one of my favourite photos from the day.

Leave a Reply

