Splintered

Splintered. One of a number of red alders brought down by this winter’s snowfall.

As always, I posted this photo because I liked it, so imagine my surprise when it kinda took off and became my most popular photo so far, garnering over 30 more likes than my next-most popular photo.

We were setting out on a walk into Lynn Headwaters park, and soon came across a handful of fallen trees. I noticed the right-angle bend in the broken tree trunk and immediately walked over to size it up. The sharp splintered wood contrasting with the grey bark and the deep orange layer between them along with the geometry of the two parts of the tree. Just some minor editing to tidy up the framing and get a crop suitable for Instagram. Done.

Leave a Reply

