Spotted!

Spotted! A spotted towhee makes a rare venture out from the safety of the undergrowth. This should have been yesterday’s Throwback Thursday but I forgot, so it’s today’s Feathered Friday instead 🐦

These birds are notoriously shy and although they often venture out into the open, they quickly dart back into the undergrowth as you approach. It took me a few years to associate them with the cat-like mew of their call, and of course now I hear it often. So I was pleasantly surprised when this one hopped out into full sun to scratch through the leaves on these steps. It had made a first tentative visit but sought the safety of the bushes as I got closer. I stopped still and zoomed in on where it had been, hoping it might make a return. And so it did, and I was ready.

Leave a Reply

