Moonrise in motion

Time lapse video of Wednesday’s moonrise over Robie Reid and Golden Ears – made a few mistakes but it worked out well enough πŸ™‚ πŸ”πŸŒ

OK so I know I posted the full video with the previous post but I couldn’t resist posting it on Instagram too. As I mention above and in that post, I did make a few mistakes that I’ll correct next time. In no particular order I think these were:

  • I didn’t clear the memory card beforehand – the video stops where it filled up, but the timelapse program (and the camera!) kept going and didn’t report any problem
  • I should have used manual focus – the focus hunts a couple of times during the video, which is pretty distracting.
  • Actually I should have used manual everything for the camera – I should have checked my exposure time for my best aperture and just set it accordingly.
  • Next time I’ll shoot a shorter interval – one photo every 10 seconds isn’t enough, so I’ll try 5 seconds to aim for a smoother video.

I think that’s about it. Nevertheless, I’m still quite pleased with how it turned out! A bigger learning curve comes with the video editing software – iMovie doesn’t really think the same way I do, so it’s taking a bit of fiddling to work things out. We’ll see what the next one brings!

Leave a Reply

