Terminal trees

A long time ago, back when I got my first Mac, I installed MacPorts to get a few extra packages that I used under Linux. Fast forward a few years (and a new laptop) and I’ve forgotten about all of this 🙂 When it came to looking for a way to get the tree command (which displays a directory listing in a tree format), one of the answers was to use MacPorts which prompted me to check and lo-and-behold, I did indeed have MacPorts installed.

A quick check showed that my installed version was waaaaay out of date so I needed to update that before going ahead with installing the package I was after. Thankfully, MacPorts has a nice little migration guide that helped me through the process. (This kind of documentation is vital to cover those instances of redoing something that you might only touch one or twice in the lifetime of a computer.)

Of course, I had to reinstall the Xcode command-line tools along the way… (Why they aren’t included by default I do not know.) I also trimmed my list of port installations to drop a couple I knew I wouldn’t need (such as Perl, which I manage separately with Perlbrew).

Then all I had to do was:
% sudo port install tree
refresh my path and I was good to go. Yay! (Ignore the spacing in the example below – it seems the preformatted text for this WP theme adds some extra padding which breaks up the connecting lines. It should look fine in the terminal.)

/Users/macports/
├── Desktop
├── Documents
├── Downloads
├── Library
│   ├── Keychains
│   │   └── ....
│   └── Preferences
├── Movies
├── Music
├── Pictures
└── Sites

It seems that folks tend to prefer HomeBrew over MacPorts but that’s something for another day.

Leave a Reply

