Brothers Creek

The lower cascade of the twin falls on Brothers Creek, one of my favourite North Shore hikes. It’s a pity the upper cascade is so difficult to capture as it’s about twice as high – this drop is only about 7 or 8 metres, but that’s plenty good enough for waterfall Wednesday 🙂

I’ve come to realize that the most difficult part of photographing waterfalls is capturing the size and scale. Sometimes there are obvious indicators – especially for big waterfalls – and sometimes the absence of scale lends greater stature to the tiniest of cascades. The difficulty lies in between. And so I was taken aback again at how large the upper falls were behind this drop, and also foiled again in my attempts to even begin to capture it. Hence, one more shot of the lower falls.

However, it’s not the shot I used to be able to get. A couple of years ago, a big windstorm blew over a substantial number of trees in this area, in the process making it much more difficult to get close to the falls. On a damp day there was no chance I was going to risk picking my way over a bunch of slippery logs on a steep slope. I think I’ll just make do with the view from up by the trail.

One thought on “Brothers Creek”

Leave a Reply

