Valley sunrise

Sunrise over the Cheam Range as we headed for the Rockies.

I love roadtrips, and especially love making an early start, getting on the road before sunrise. We were on our way to the Rockies to do some hiking in Yoho before meeting my parents in Canmore for a week’s holiday. I’ve long wanted to see the sun rise over Mt Cheam and its fellow peaks, and timed our departure from Vancouver just right to catch the sun as it rose over the jagged tips of the Cheam Range. We pulled off the highway next to a field of growing corn just long enough for me to take the picture. It’s not quite the photo I had in mind, but it was clearly good enough as I haven’t felt the need to repeat it in the 5 years since! Maybe one day…

Leave a Reply

