Solstice sunrise

Summer solstice moonset over Vancouver Island – welcome to summer!

OK so it’s not a picture of sunrise itself, but it was taken more or less at sunrise…

I’m not a morning person but I love mornings, and every now and again I simply have to catch a summer sunrise, even if it does mean getting up at 3:15 am. And what better a sunrise to capture than that on the summer solstice. Of course, if it was just a matter of watching the sunrise itself I can do that well enough from home or by just walking down to the beach.

But this year the solstice coincided with a full moon which meant I wanted to be somewhere where I could watch the moon set. OK yes, strictly I could have done that from home as well, but I liked the idea of watching it set over Vancouver Island. And the lookout on the way up to Cypress Bowl seemed like the perfect vantage point.

So there I was, one of only half-a-dozen cars on the Lions Gate bridge at 4 in the morning, and then one of only two cars at the lookout. The sunrise was a bust with too much cloud in the east (I was hoping for lovely light on Mt Baker), so I was doubly glad of the clear skies to the west. I have to say I enjoyed every moment of the morning, and it was especially nice to hear the dawn chorus of robins and countless other birds singing away in the trees around me.

Leave a Reply

