Eagles

Dropping in for lunch

We were minding our own business, padding about the sand at low tide when I noticed an eagle swoop down and appear to grab a fish. I watched as it banked around, and to my surprise it landed on a small sandbank about 50 m away, rather than taking it back up into a tree. I crept closer and began taking as many photographs as I could. Just when I thought I’d be happy with these photos, its mate appeared from the top of a nearby Douglas fir and flew down to share in the spoils. The two chattered away for a bit, but there didn’t seem to be any food sharing going on – the bird that caught the fish continued to rip it apart on its own which made for a few grisly photos (even if it was just a fish). After about 10 minutes they both flew off, presumably back to the nest to feed their growing chicks. What a treat – I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of seeing eagles.

Leave a Reply

