Blog central

It finally occurred to me that it might be worth having a central, generic blog that links to my other more specific blogs. So here it is, using my real name and all. I might post stuff here, but mostly it’s going to be somewhere to link to my other blogs when I add new entries. You know, to save y’all the bother of following multiple blogs 🙂

So where are these other blogs, and what are they about?

First up, my hiking blog, Being. Outdoors. This is the most voluminous of my blogs, covering hiking trips that now go back almost a decade. I used to be strict about keeping the entries in order but I recently changed my mind and now just publish whatever I want whenever I feel like it.

Next, my Instagram blog, Fonetoes. I like reading about the stories behind a given photograph, so this is my attempt to write about some of the photos I’ve taken. UPDATE 11 Nov 2016: not any more – I’ve moved all my Instagram-based posts here instead.

Third, an old out-of-date blog cataloguing the photos I’ve taken from our balcony, A Rainy View. Pretty much the same rationale as the one above.

Moving over to Blogger, I have a now-static blog that kept track of my one and only attempt at a photo-a-day project, Once Around The Sun.

Finally, there was the blog that started it all – after one of my first backpacking trips, I came home so enthused that I just had to write all about it: The Intertidal Flush.

You may detect a theme or two from the above – hiking and photography. That doesn’t cover all my interests by a long shot, but it’s a good start. Hiking is probably the root inspiration; the photography grew out of documenting where I’d been. And the hiking was probably spurred by my combined interests in the natural world and maps. As to where that came from, who knows?

Leave a Reply

