West Lion

A different view of the West Lion – taken from the trail up to Black Mountain at the end of March 2010

The Baden-Powell trail up to Black Mountain from Cypress Bowl used to be a leisurely ascent via an old logging road before entering old growth on the summit plateau. It was an especially pleasant approach in the winter meandering past (or over) frozen ponds and gradually climbing up to the south peak. As part of the preparation for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, Cypress Mountain ski resort expanded its ski runs on the east face of Black Mountain, wiping out the old trail in the process, which was re-routed up the north side of one of the ski runs turning it into a boring miniature “grind”.

Boring, yes. But the saving grace of this more direct route is that it makes getting up to the summit of Black Mountain easy on those lighter spring evenings, taking barely 45 minutes. And so after work one day I headed across to the North Shore and headed up to the top to catch the sunset. Alas I was too late to catch the sunset itself, but I did capture this gorgeous soft light on the west Lion, all newly bedecked in the metres of fresh snow that fell immediately after the Olympics…

One other thing I noticed that evening was that I was alone – no one else was venturing up on snowshoes, and I had the entire hike to myself. It was so still and quiet, especially after the ski lifts shut down, that I could hardly believe I was so close to the city. Really, quite a magical moment and well worth doing, even if I did take a wrong turn on the descent and ended up coming down on one of the ski runs…

I put up a set of photos on Flickr if you want to see what else I took that night.

Leave a Reply

