Beach love

A Valentine’s Day greeting on the beach.

A Valentine's Day greeting on the beach #beachlove #blackiespit #beach #crescentbeach #shell #clam

A post shared by Andy Gibb (@_andy_gibb_) on

I’d seen many great bird photos that had been taken in Blackie Spit park so I thought I’d check it out myself on a dull, blustery Valentine’s Day. I saw a couple of eagles out on the mud flats, and an armada of unidentified dabbling ducks, but that was about it. I guess – like many “good” birding spots – it’s not that the birds are always there, and getting a good photo requires being in the right place at the right time. Walking back along the beach towards the car I spotted something bright and colourful on a log, which turned out to be a painted clam shell above. I thought it was an apt message for the day, and much easier to photograph than a distant bird.

Leave a Reply

