Witch hazel

Winter blossom from witch hazel, the first cheery reminder that spring will be along soon, at least here in Vancouver πŸ™‚ Normally these bloom mid-January – maybe they’re late this year, or perhaps they bloomed on time and it just took me a fortnight to notice… Either way it always cheers me up when I see them.

I’ve been walking in to work as often as I can since the start of the new year, and I noticed these blooms for the first time just this week. How did I miss them before? I must have walked past this tree half-a-dozen times, and somehow had completely missed them.

I always like to see the unusual yellow filaments of the witch hazel flowers as they’re one of the first (if not the first) plants to bloom as the days begin to lengthen. Helps me make it through the dismal grey days of January.

Leave a Reply

